Careers (Year 11)

The Gateway Academy brings you an extensive help site here on anything you need to know about Careers, College, Information, Advice and Guidance...

To download a handy guide to your next steps when you leave school, click on the image below...

GA Next Steps Booklet Button


NS1NS2

 


Colleges

College and Sixth Form Open Events
 for more information check college websites
   
Palmers College  
Thursday 12th October 2017 18:00 - 20:30
Thursday 23rd November 2017 18:00 - 20:30
Thursday 11th January 2018 18:00 - 20:30
   
South Essex College  
Southend Campus  
 Wednesday 11th October 2017 17:00 - 20:00
Thursday 16th Novermber 2017 17:00 - 20:00
Tuesday 20th March 2018 17:00 - 20:00
   
Thurrock Campus  
Thursday 19th October 2017 17:00 - 20:00
Wednesday 17th January 2018 17:00 - 20:00
Tuesday 15th May 2018 17:00 - 20:00
   
Basildon Campus  
Tuesday 7th November 2017 17:00 - 20:00
Thursday 1st February 2018 17:00 - 20:00
Wednesday 13th June 2018 17:00 - 20:00
   
SEEVIC College  
Tuesday 3rd October 2017 18:00 - 20:30
Tuesday 21st November 2017 18:00 - 20:30
Tuesday 6th February 2018 18:00 - 20:30
   
Harris Academy Sixth Form  
Thursday 23rd November 2017 18.30 - 20.30
   
Ockendon Academy Sixth Form  
Thursday 19th October 2017 17:00 - 19:00
   
Stanford & Corringham Sixth Form  
Thursday 28th September 2017 18.30 - 20.00
   
Ormiston Park Academy Sixth Form  
check with Ormiston Park Academy  
   
Elutec  
Saturday 14th October 2017 11:00 - 15:00
   
Writtle University College  
Saturday 14th October 2017 10.00 - 13.00
Saturday 13th January 2018 10.00 - 13.00
Saturday 21st April 2018 10.00 - 13.00
Wednesday 20th May 2018 17.30 - 19.00
   
Barking & Dagenham College  
Rush Green Campus  
Saturday 14th October 2017 10.00 - 14.00
Thursday 7th December 2017 15.30 - 19.00
Thursday 18th January 2018 16.30 - 19.00
Saturday 10th March 2018 10.00 - 14.00
Thursday 12th April 2018 16.30 - 19.00
Saturday 12th May 2018 10.00 - 14.00
Thursday 21th June 2018 15.30 - 19.00
   
Technical Skills Academy  
Saturday 30th September 2017 11.00 - 14.00
Thursday 23rd November 2017 16.30 - 19.00
Wednesday 21st February 2018 16.30 - 19.00
Saturday 9th June 2018 10.00 - 14.00
   
Havering College  
Ardleigh Green Campus  
Saturday 14th Octoboer 2017 10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday 5th December 2017 16:00 - 20:00
Tuesday 18th January 2018 16:00 - 20:00
Wednesday 14th March 2018 16:00 - 20:00
Tuesday 12th June 2018 16:00 - 20:00
   
Quarles Campus  
Wednesday 1st November 2017 16:00 - 20:00
   
Rainham Construction Centre  
Tuesday 14th November 2017 16:00 - 20:00
   
Havering Sixth Form College  
Saturday 18th November 2017 10.00 - 15.00
Saturday 13th January 2018 10.00 - 15.00
   
PROCAT ( Prospects College )  
Basildon Campus  
Thursday 5th October 2017 16:00 - 20:00
   
LifeSkills  
Basildon - Acorn House  
Tuesday 10th October 2017 10:00 - 14:00
Tuesday 7th November 2017 10:00 - 14:00
Tuesday 5th December 2017 10:00 - 14:00
Tuesday 9th January 2018 10:00 - 14:00


You can also download a useful guide to your College Interview here.

You can visit the local colleges by clicking on the name of the college you would like to visit below:


Apprenticeships


Want a Saturday job? Download the Work Permit form here and get Miss McLaughlin to sign this before you send back to your employer. If you are not sure if you are allowed to work, visit the Thurrock Council website to find out the rules and regulations before you undertake any work. 


Raising Participation Age (RPA)

Click here to find out how this affects you!


Thurrock Careers (Formerly Youth & Connexions)

Frank is in the Gateway Academy every day (including some school holidays) and is available:

  • 9am–5pm Monday to Thursday
  • 9am–4.30pm Friday

Frank can be contacted by the following methods:

Mob: 07823 326024
Email: frank.thompson@theglc.org.uk


How to make a good impression at interview

Download the latest Youth & Connexions leaflets for more information on:

CVs and Applications
Employment
It's Your Choice
Parents & Carers
Post 14 Options
Post 16 Options
Preparing for Exams
Preparing for Interviews


Key Stage 4 Options for 2017-20 - click here to view the process and see what options you can take!


Here are some good websites to give you more information:

Work based learning:
www.apprenticeships.org.uk
www.education.gov.uk (formerly LSC)

Further Education:
www.ucasprogress.com
www.notgoingtouni.co.uk

Going to University:
www.ucas.com

Help writing your CV:
www.businessballs.com

Careers:
www.fasttomato.com
www.targetcareers.co.uk
www.munstor.com
www.targetjobs.co.uk
www.samlearning.com

NEETs & Unknowns


Inspirational videos from staff within the Gateway Learning Community